This is a version of the LibGuide I started while employed at Temple University Health Sciences Library from July 2015-September 12, 2022. I plan to maintain it here going forward.
PubMed Resources
- PubMed Clinical Queries Evidence Based Medicine and Systematic Review quick search to find answers to clinical questions.
SR Search Building Tools
- Yale MeSH Analyzer
- PubMed PubReMinertext-mining tool for PubMed
Citation Managers
Databases
- PubMed
- Embase
- Cochrane Library
- Web of Science
- PsycInfo
- CINAHL [via EBSCOhost]
- PsycNetSearch and access over 5.4 million records across all of APA’s electronic resources.
- LILACSScientific and technical literature by Latin America and Caribbean authors.
- African Index MedicusAccess to African Health Information
- Public Health Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Public Health offers core literature for the study of public health, including biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, and behavioral sciences.
- ERIC [via U.S. Department of Education] This link opens in a new window
- TRIP Database (Turning Research Into Practice) is a free medical database providing access to high quality clinical research evidence. TRIP Pro is the enhanced version containing over 100,000 systematic reviews, medical images and videos, millions of full-text articles, and advanced searching.
- Global Health Archive
Global Health Archive provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. Coverage is from 1910 to 1972. - Transplant Library -Transplant Library is developed by the “Peter Morris Centre for Evidence in Transplantation” and provides access to all evidence-based publications on all aspects of organ transplantation.
- Epistemonikos Provides rapid access to systematic reviews in health and primary studies that have been included in a systematic review.
- NeuroBite (Formerly PsycBite) Catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioral and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI).
- OTseekerOccupational Therapy systematic evaluation of evidence.
- SpeechBiteSpeech pathology database for best interventions and treatment efficacy.
- CARDS-Computer Access to Research on Dietary SupplementsDatabase of federally funded research projects pertaining to dietary supplements since 1999.
- PDQ-EvidencePDQ(“pretty darn quick”)-Evidence facilitates rapid access to the best available evidence for decisions about health systems.
Grey Literature
- Grey Matters: a practical tool for searching health-related grey literature Online interface for locating different types of health-related grey literature sources.
- ClinicalTrials.gov
- WHO-International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP) Search Portal
- CADTH – Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technology in Health Drug and medical device evidence search
- Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) Access to publications, data & statistics.
- NCTN/NCORP Data Archive-Phase III Clinical Trials A centralized repository of patient level data from phase III clinical trials conducted at NCTN, NCORP and National Cancer Inst. of Canada clinical trials group
- FDA Drugs Approved Catalog
- OAIster
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)
- GreyNet
- ISRCTN Registry Clinical trial registry (proposed, ongoing or completed) and is freely accessible and searchable.
- Grey Literature Report
- ROAD Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources
- Evidence Search/NICE-National Institute for Health and Care Excellence Provides access to selected and authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health.
- PAIS International This link opens in a new windowYouTube tutorials
PAIS covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976. - search.bioPreprint This link opens in a new windowsearch.bioPreprint searches across several preprint databases to discover yet-to-be published or reviewed biomedical research articles. This is a free resource provided by the University of Pittsburgh Health Sciences Library System.
- TRoPHI (Eppi-Centre) Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions.
- Bibliomap BiblioMap, the EPPI-Centre database of health promotion research, contains over 14,100 records at present. The studies included in Bibliomap have been compiled over a number of years as a result of searching and coding research for inclusion in systematic reviews at the EPPI-Centre. All studies are coded for specific characteristics of health focus, population group and study type.
- Mednar-medical search engine an alternative to Google
- European Clinical Trials Register
- Eli Lily & co. Clinical Trials Registry
- GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) Clinical Study Register
- Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations International archive of electronic theses and dissertations (ETD’s)
- EThOS-UK’s national theses service Search over 400,000 UK doctoral theses.
- RePORTERA repository of both intramural and extramural NIH-funded research projects.
- RePORT-Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools Special reports on issues of importance to NIH stakeholders, including the Biennial Report of the NIH Director, fact sheets, strategic plans, and science advances and other impacts of NIH support.
- WHO World Health Organization
- World Wide Science A global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.
- NTIS-National Technical Reports Library Government technical reports that exists in many academic, public, government, and corporate libraries.
- European Medicines Agency (EMA) European Union agency responsible for the protection of public and animal health through the scientific evaluation and supervision of medicines & pharmaceuticals.
- National Academy of Medicine (NAM) Through its domestic and global initiatives, the NAM works to address critical issues in health, medicine, and related policy and inspire positive action across sectors.
- CareSearch-Grey Literature Database Search For palliative care grey literature
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration for mental health research
- AIDSinfo Clinical trials search Produce a list of HIV/AIDS clinical trials in the area of research that interests you.
- SPIRAL-Asian Health
- Health Canada Clinical Trial Database
- Chinese Clinical Trial Registry
- Trialstreamer Trialstreamer continuously monitors PubMed and the WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform, looking for new RCTs in humans using machine learning.
Systematic Reviews
- PCORI Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute-updates and analyzes existing reviews.
- EPPI-Centre Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating Centre-collects, produces, and supports systematic reviews.
- AHRQ-Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality EPC Evidence-Based Reports
- Bandolier Evidence-Based Pain Medicine
- CanChild Centre for Childhood Disability Research
- Cochrane Library (CDSR)-database of systematic reviews
- PROSPERO-Systematic Review Protocol Registry Locate registered SR protocols at the International Prospective Register of Systematic Reviews
- Campbell Collaboration International research network, that produces and support systematic reviews of effects of social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare.
- Joanna Briggs Institute International research center which supports and conducts systematic reviews in nursing, allied health & midwifery.
- McMaster Optimal Aging Portal Evidence Summaries drawn from high quality research articles.
- McMaster Health Evidence Must be a free registered user to access 4,742+ quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions.
- BMC Systematic Reviews Search the BioMed Central open access Systematic Reviews Journal for systematic reviews and protocols.
- The guide to Community Preventative Services The Community Guide is a website that houses the official collection of all Community Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force) findings and the systematic reviews on which they are based.
- Dopher: Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews DoPHER is unique in its focused coverage of systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide.
- Centre for Evidence Based Mental Health (CEBMH) reviews and tutorials
- DARE and NHS EED-Economic Evaluation Database Systematic reviews of health & social care interventions and economic evaluations.
- FAIR-Finding Answers Intervention Research Article summaries from systematic reviews of health disparities interventions.
- PDQ Evidence PDQ (“pretty darn quick”)-Evidence facilitates rapid access to the best available evidence for decisions about health systems. It includes systematic reviews, broad syntheses of reviews (including evidence-based policy briefs), primary studies included in systematic reviews and structured summaries of that evidence.
- The Community Guide Public Health systematic reviews
- What Works Clearinghouse Education Systematic Reviews
- CareSearch Systematic Review Collection To locate palliative care systematic reviews, non-comprehensive collection organized by subject.
- National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Journals Library NIHR research published in their own publicly open-access journals.
- 3ie: International Initiative for Impact Evaluation Impact evaluations and systematic reviews that generate evidence on what works in international development programmes and why.
- Social Systems Evidence (Beta) The world’s most comprehensive, free access point for evidence about strengthening 16 government sectors and program areas, and achieving 14 of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals.
- Centre of Evidence Based Dermatology University of Nottingham created this resource to allow easy access to all systematic reviews for a given dermatological condition.
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements-Evidence Based Review Program Efficacy and safety of dietary supplements
- BEME Collaboration Best Evidence Medical and Health Professional Education
- UK Department for International Development
- CAMRADES Systematic reviews for animal data from experimental studies-Search completed systematic reviews or protocols
- MetaLab “A database of meta-analyses on developmental psychology whose data sets are made publicly available and are continuously updated; these meta-analyses are often released on line before publication in peer-reviewed journals” -Mathur, Sensitivity analysis for publication bias in meta-analyses.
- SHARE A repository of HIV-related systematic reviews.
- LitCovid A curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus from PubMed.
Guidelines
- ECRI Guidelines Trust Registration is free to access.
- National Institute for Health and Care Excellence The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.
- Guidelines-summaries Guidelines provides concise clinical guideline summaries of major primary and shared care guidelines in the UK. Additionally, European guidelines from some of the major independent professional bodies are also summarized and included.
- Canadian Medical Association (CMA) Infobase The CMA Infobase is a database of evidence-based Canadian clinical practice guidelines (CPGs).
- Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) The Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) develops evidence based clinical practice guidelines for the National Health Service (NHS) in Scotland.
- Guidelines International Network (G-I-N) The Guidelines International Network (G-I-N) has the world’s largest international guideline library. It is a Network of individual and organisations interested in guidelines.
- AORN eGuidelines+ AORN eGuidelines+ is a descriptive and comprehensive guidelines collection that reflects evidence-based practices for the perioperative RN in a range of topics that support both patient and worker safety.
Oops, if you find any broken links, please contact me!
Systematic Review (Evidence Synthesis) Librarian 